Anton Kovalyov
XOXO 2015
Published in
1 min readSep 11, 2015

--

XOXO ’15

Last night I boarded a Southwest flight to Portland. I was seated in between two dudes: one was “devastated” because the flight didn’t have WiFi and another just sat there repeating “really? c’mon!” every minute or so until we took off.

This means that today I’m in Portland, at the fourth XOXO festival (and conference), celebrating independent art and technology. I’m not really sure what to expect but the opening remarks sounded promising.

I ate breakfast. (If you eat something and its not on Instagram, are you really full?) While it doesn’t sound very exciting, it did give me a glimpse into the world of Portland food trucks, one of the cutest representatives of which was a Cereal From A Van. Imagine an old Dodge van with a dude dressed up in an Elmo onesie inside, surrounded by cereal boxes, and knowing way too much about cereal. That’s Cereal From A Van.

As for me, I’m sitting here, drinking artisanal soda (which is a thing in Portland) and wondering about my neighbor from the flight last night. Did he ever recover from spending an hour without the Internet? Were paramedics involved?

--

--