Adjmal, My Short Story

Ducorp XTM
XTM+
Published in
2 min readJul 4, 2019
Adjmal Dreepaul.

Over the last 3 years, I have been through 2 major tragedies: in 2016, I lost my elder brother in a car accident and in February this year, my father passed away. These events left me feeling shattered and have had a very profound effect on the way I interact with life. For one thing, these tragedies have brought our family closer together.

It has further made me more focused and resilient as a person, determined to do what is best to make something out of my life and fulfill my role in being there and giving support to my younger brother and my mother.

Growing up with both parents, I used to take many things for granted and was a stubborn and “rebellious” child who only cared to do what he wanted to do. During my teenage life, I was very careless about my studies and showed little to no desire to achieve anything in life. I often did not pay attention in class.

I only realized the importance of learning when I was in the last year of my studies. After a lot of introspection, I was able to condition my mindset and attitude to obtain a result I have never even dreamed of before. When I received my result, I understood that I owed this result not only to myself but also to the continuous support of my friend and parents.

No doubt the last few years have been the hardest I have ever had and have helped forge the person I am today and will greatly influence the person I will be tomorrow. I look to the future and have no idea what life has in store for me but one thing I know is that I am determined to make the most of it.

Adjmal Dreepaul.

XTM; 2019.

--

--

Ducorp XTM
XTM+
Editor for

Seed-Stage VC targeting the technology sector in emerging markets. We unearth disruptors in hard-to-reach places and channel their work, anywhere.