Get to Know The Flying Hawaiian -XYO Head of Social, Eric Yee!

Jenn Perez
XYO Network
Published in
3 min readFeb 18, 2019

Eric Yee. If you’re on any of our social channels, you’ve seen his work and most certainly admired it. From Twitter posts about partnerships to Instagram contests that end in maximum swag, Eric is the one behind it all.

And let me tell you, as our Head of Social, he is one of the most hard-working and witty people you’ll ever come across.

One of his superpowers? Thinking ahead. By the time a person comes up with an idea for a social post or social series, Eric has probably already executed it, perfectly, 20 minutes ago. He’s our go-to for all things social, and his work is unparalleled. Here’s a little more about our social master, in his own words:

Name and official title:

My name is Eric Yee, but friends call me everything, from Yee to Yeezus to Yeezy to Lloyd to the Flying Hawaiian (I’m not Hawaiian). My position at XYO is Head of Social.

What do you do at the company?

As Head of Social, I manage social media platforms and contribute to the marketing team’s efforts! Everything from Tweeting the latest partnership updates to working with our Supercross legend Justin Bogle on an Instagram takeover to weekly updates on Blockfolio fall under the social media umbrella. I also work closely with Johnny K to support the biweekly Facebook AMAs and our customer obsession and fulfillment teams to make sure our customers are taken care of.

How did you get into your position — what was your route to becoming who you are at the company?

My resume is a bit of a Chex-Mix bag of previous roles. I have startup experience working in the beverage industry and a lot of marketing from small events. For the past four years prior to joining the XYO team, I created content for the NFL for broadcast and social media. In my social media career, I have won three Shorty Awards for social media content as well as an Emmy nomination for social media content in broadcast. In December 2018, I was offered a position with XYO which I quickly accepted.

What is an average day for you (if there is one)?

One thing I love about working in social media is that every day is different! Some things I look forward to every morning when I get into the office is checking our mentions on social media and engaging with fans. I get to exercise my creative juices in GIF form or think of a creative analogy to describe how geomining works. I’ll also work with our incredible graphics team (shout out to Lindsey, Pao and Jonny) to think of new ideas, such as #MiningMondays graphics or COIN leaderboard images. On other days, I’m working with our sponsored athletes to create social media campaigns or share information. I’m a believer that there are no bad days.

What’s something unusual most people don’t know about you?

I’m a big time sports guy. In my younger years, I was paid to play soccer and sponsored to play paintball. During the Formula 1 season, I’ll wake up on a Saturday at 4am just to watch the race or stay up late on Wednesday nights to play in a men’s soccer league down the street. That’s not to say it hasn’t taken a toll on me, I’ve torn two ligaments and broken four bones playing sports.

What are two truths and one lie about you?

  1. I pierced my own ears
  2. I have lived in 7 different states
  3. I have a Futurama tattoo

Thanks for reading XYO insider! Stay tuned for more profiles of XYO team members!

--

--

Jenn Perez
XYO Network

Lead Content Manager, XYO Network. Former LA Times Reporter. I write about blockchain, cryptocurrency, transportation, smart cities, and the future.