Get to Know Tyler Hill, XYO’s Customer Obsession COINmaster — With a Plot Twist!

Jenn Perez
XYO Network
Published in
5 min readApr 5, 2019

How many times have you run into someone you haven’t seen in years, and thought to yourself “Wow! How random was THAT?”.

For Tyler Hill, XYO’s Customer Obsession Associate devoted to our COIN app, the exact same thing happened — with an XYO twist!

Through his customer service skills, this massively hard-working and enthusiastic employee has put a smile on the faces of many, many XYO fans and HODLers. But one encounter in particular has become an XYO modern day legend, and it must be told. Keep reading!

Let’s talk about your time before XYO. You were working at Starbucks, right? Anywhere else? Tell me about that.

I was at Starbucks for about 3 and ½ years. I started when I was a sophomore in high school in Glenwood Springs, Colorado. It was a neat experience because I had no interest or taste for coffee. I maybe tried a drink or two, but never ordered one for myself. After I graduated, I transferred to a store in Arizona where I became a shift supervisor until I found a job at Gamestop. I was working as a supervisor there full time and a barista before/after shifts.

When did you come across XYO as a company?

The funny thing is that my mom was an investor for the company and owned some XYO tokens. She wanted to go to the first Spatial Conference and brought me along as a plus one. Now, I had no idea what XYO was and did not have much insight on cryptocurrency, but it was a great excuse to see my mom the first time since I left home — and visit one of my favorite cities!

What made you decide to try and work here — and how did you go about it?

Seeing the culture and passion behind something that has not been done before was the most outstanding to me. [Spatial] was my first experience of seeing so many forward-thinking individuals with a certain sense of attitude, building something huge that made me want to be a part of it all. How I saw each attendee get even more inspired and excited to be involved spoke volumes.

The last day of the conference was a tour of the office here in downtown San Diego. The culture that got me hooked was definitely present in their workspace. I knew it was going to be my office too. I went up to one of the Co-founders, Markus Levin, and gave him a quick speech about how I was going to move to San Diego(which was decided the day prior) and work my ass off and be any resource he needed. I got his card and applied as soon as I got back. A few calls later, I set my map to San Diego and found a place to live. Hands down one of the best decisions of my life.

Tell me about your experiences here so far… what has it been like?

It has been absolutely incredible. Everyone I work with is driven down to the core, with knowledge and unique experience to back it all up. I love what I do, I learn so much every day and I am able to share that expertise to help the community become more knowledgeable and grow that excitement. Fire fueling fire!

So, what happened recently that had the XYO team buzzing?

It’s the craziest thing. We just started a new service called VIP Concierge where we reach out and answer any questions one may have and officially welcome them to the family. The very first call I made was to a sort of familiar name that was currently in AZ. The conversation went well but towards the end, I had to know if she ever liked to visit the Starbucks around where she was calling from. After learning that she was a regular, I asked if she remembered the guy with the hair in a bun dressed in a black apron.

It was at that moment that we both erupted with ‘Wait, Do I know you?!’ and the whole workspace around me stopped and watched as I was now up in my chair and excited-yelling at this poor woman about how I couldn’t believe we already knew each other!

What happened after you found out?

We both laughed and couldn’t believe it. It’s a small world sometimes and we both knew things were happening for a reason. I went from making this wonderful lady’s green tea to chatting about geomining, cryptocurrency and location verification. I guess they went hand in hand for the both of us.

What do you like most about your job?

I love being able to enlighten the community and teach about what we are doing at XY. It is outstanding to see people trying to get in the space and learn about it all. Being able to help gain that understanding is a thrill of its own. I am super thankful to be a part of it all. COIN app has been awesome to support, I love to see people going all out and trying to collect as much as possible. There are tons of things to come with COIN that I think the people will love.

What are your ultimate goals here?

I want to be one of the strongest pillars here at XY. I want to help really grow the community and teach everyone involved in what we are building and be a huge resource for it all. I want to inspire that flame that got me hooked from the start.

--

--

Jenn Perez
XYO Network

Lead Content Manager, XYO Network. Former LA Times Reporter. I write about blockchain, cryptocurrency, transportation, smart cities, and the future.