Migrating Blog from Wordpress to Jekyll

Sayak Biswas
yamp
Published in
1 min readJun 2, 2016

Recently I became quite active on GitHub mostly thanks to my class projects and a few personal projects. While creating a web page for one of my VR projects on GitHub, I found that it allowed us to host custom Jekyll-based project as well as personal web sites. Digging deeper I found that Jekyll even allows us to create blogs. Instead of databases, it stores the posts in flat markdown files. So, I thought of giving it a try and went ahead with creating a personal website. And it turned out quite well. At this point I have migrated all the posts, images and most comments. I think I just need to figure out the publicize functionality before the migration is complete. The new blog can be visited here. In the next post, which will hopefully be on the github blog, I will write about the migration procedure.

Until then, cheers!

--

--