Plymouth on Arch

Sayak Biswas
yamp
Published in
1 min readOct 22, 2009

I’m now enjoying beautiful splashes at boot on my Arch box. Yes, plymouth works quite well on Arch. To get it working well, execute the folowing steps:
1. First get KMS enabled in your kernel.
2. Next install plymouth-git from aur:
yaourt -S plymouth-git
3. Then edit /etc/mkinitcpio.conf and add 'plymouth' (without the quotes) in the HOOKS line after base, udev and autodetect.
4. Rebuild initrd using(as root):
mkinitcpio -p kernel26
5. To change themes, do:
sudo plymouth-set-default-theme --rebuild-initrd
You can find themes in /usr/share/plymouth/themes.
6. Reboot
The only problem I have with this method is that plymouthd does not get stopped even after plymouth splash ends. For that I have to do (as root)
killall plymouthd
everytime I login(not a very viable solution). So, if you guys have any better solution, feel free to tell me.

Cheers!

--

--