Mark in 2018

Mark Spencer
Yankeekiwi’s Podcast Journal
1 min readFeb 12, 2018

Podcasting:

In late ’17 I jumped aboard the nascent but exciting podcasting platform Anchor. In an exercise of equal parts audio journalling, on-mic skill development, and thought-to-speech translation practise, I put out segments on anything and everything for a few weeks.

I’ve greatly enjoyed going back to these segments, in hindsight though I wish I’d prioritised recording quality over convenience. AirPods will never, ever, make the list of good podcasting mics.

But while out and about, it was great to just pop in an earbud, wrestle control away from my car stereo, and audio journal away. It was a great few weeks and I was quite happy with the results I was getting, with my thoughts coming out into a podcast a bit more polished and cogent than I’d dreaded.

So, this year will see a return of my voice and thoughts to the podcast bitstream, both on-mic through Anchor, the grind of readying a full show of my own on one of Melbourne’s fine new podcast networks, and behind-the-scenes in production roles. More to come!

--

--