How To Build Wealth In Your Teens and 20s

There’s a reason why the rich get richer

Isaiah McCall
Yard Couch

--

Image from Canva

K-12 schools may be teaching us rudimentary financial literacy, but there's a huge gap in investing and personal finance control.

You have to teach yourself the most basic shit, and the stock market is so intimidating that nearly half of Americans regret not investing more in stocks over the last 10 years.

We’re also largely indoctrinated by the values and ideas of our parents.

I had to learn everything about investing and managing money myself because my parents didn’t have financial literacy. They provided for me zipping between “decently middle class” to “fuck fuck fuck” danger zone credit cards paying off debt.

I unlearned and learned a lot to get where I’m at now.

Here are the best habits I picked up:

Beginner Level: The Dave Ramsey method

1: Save $1000
2: Pay off all debt
3: Save 3–6 months of expenses
4: Invest 15% of your income
5: Save for children’s college

Dave is a savings and debt guy, not an investment guy.

--

--

Isaiah McCall
Yard Couch

Journalist for 99Bitcoins and former USA Today, also Ultramarathoner | On Substack: https://isaiahmccall.substack.com/ mccallisaiah@gmail.com