Important Habits I Regret Not Starting Sooner in My 20s

Stop listening to strangers on the internet

Isaiah McCall
Yard Couch
Published in
4 min readFeb 21, 2022

--

Canva

Time travel can be achieved in five easy steps:

  1. Drink a lot of alcohol/Smoke a lot of weed
  2. Get a job with no future that doesn’t require learning skills
  3. Keep playing video games and reading the same social forums for the majority of your time
  4. Never talk to new people
  5. Watch a lot of YouTube and Netflix

Before you know it, BAM. You’ll be 30 and nothing will have changed except your hairline. And if you haven’t gotten anything going to that point, your life pretty much becomes a bear market after that.

You double top at 31 and 35, have a fake-out at 40 then denial, capitulation, and despair.

For an article like this I don’t want to bog it down with shitty trite tips that Gary Vee peddles out every five hours — so, here are just a few unique habits I wish I knew earlier in life.

1. Try not to get too low or too high

I’m an addict.

I’m addicted to a myriad of different things: Coffee, desserts, exercise, dating apps, the internet, useless facts.

--

--

Isaiah McCall
Yard Couch

Journalist for 99Bitcoins and former USA Today, also Ultramarathoner | On Substack: https://isaiahmccall.substack.com/ mccallisaiah@gmail.com