Now That YouTube is Dying, Here Are Better Alternatives

YouTube is the next MTV

Isaiah McCall
Yard Couch
Published in
6 min readOct 7, 2022

--

Image designed in Canva

YouTube is going the way of MTV. It’s like a once-great rock band that’s been taken over by corporations, sellouts, and grifters.

Ask yourself:

  • Why do I keep getting YouTube Premium ads when I said no?
  • Why can’t I see dislikes on videos?
  • Why do I have to pay to watch videos in 4K?

And guess what? The free version of YouTube is silently testing 5 Ads, instead of 2, before your video starts. It’s slow-motion suicide:

“The year is 2044, I have to wait for 40 ads so I can watch a 5-second video”

-Reddit

YouTube has gotten worse because they are shit scared of appearing un-advertiasable. It’s become overrun by clickbait, low-quality content, censorship, and is no longer a place where starving artists and gumshoes can make a living.

We came to YouTube in search of creative freedom and a platform that would showcase our work to the world. And while it did that for a while, YouTube is now nothing better than television with extra steps.

I’m done.

--

--

Isaiah McCall
Yard Couch

Journalist for 99Bitcoins and former USA Today, also Ultramarathoner | On Substack: https://isaiahmccall.substack.com/ mccallisaiah@gmail.com