Real Estate Investing for the Common Man

A user’s review of Fundrise after two months

Cody Collins
Yard Couch

--

Fundrise.com | Canva

Real estate investing was not in my plan. At least not at my current age. But due to the changing landscape, I have now been invested in real estate for two months via Fundrise.

As a result of the pandemic and actions taken by the Federal Reserve and government, asset prices have skyrocketed in the past year-plus. This mainly includes stocks and real estate.

The stock market was up 15% in 2020 and 14% in the first half of 2021 alone. Housing prices are also at record highs — with prices seeing a 14% year-over-year gain in April.

But let’s not forget the 30% crash in early 2020. Watching my stock portfolio go down every day was not fun.

So when I found out about a way to invest in real estate for only $1,000, I figured why not. Diversification lowers portfolio risk, the housing market has been booming, and I sure can’t afford the prices of North Jersey houses.

Below I’ll explain how I found about Fundrise, the process for getting started, and my experience so far.

Discovering Fundrise

While I love the stock market, it’s never smart to put all your eggs in one basket. Looking to diversify between stocks and the…

--

--

Cody Collins
Yard Couch

Energy Finance Professional. Top writer in Investing, Economics, Technology, and Business. Co-Creator of Yard Couch. Email: cjcollins1997@gmail.com