Why BlackBerry is a Better Investment Than AMC

Long-term play of the year

Isaiah McCall
Yard Couch
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2021

--

Photo by Randy Lu on Unsplash

Earlier this year, I made the best decision of my financial career. I sold all my stocks.

I didn’t trust Janet Yellen, nor Jerome Powell and ran away from the market screaming. All of my funds went into my savings account or into cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin and Ethereum.

Only one stock remained in my portfolio: BlackBerry (BB).

I had done some research during the GameStop/Reddit fiasco into BB and found some shocking tidbits of info.

  • BlackBerry was now a cybersecurity company
  • They had just landed a partnership with Amazon
  • They launched an operating system called QNX which is running in 175m cars and installed on the international space station.

BlackBerry was no longer an outdated phone company that stuffy businessmen used to micromanage their hedge funds. No sir. BB was looking ahead— and that future was looking bright.

BlackBerry Vs. Bitcoin

There’s no correlation between the two. But in terms of which has a better chance to 100x over the next five years, I’d say the odds are in favor of the former not the latter.

--

--

Isaiah McCall
Yard Couch

Journalist for 99Bitcoins and former USA Today, also Ultramarathoner | On Substack: https://isaiahmccall.substack.com/ mccallisaiah@gmail.com