Why I Sold My Ethereum (New Strategy)

Sorry not sorry

Isaiah McCall
Yard Couch
Published in
5 min readJun 29, 2022

--

Photo by Quantitatives on Unsplash

I sold my Ethereum.

Not all of it, of course, I still hold a little bit. But I sold the majority.

I’m in trouble, I know. I can feel the disapproving glares of my crypto-friends already. I can hear the questions they’re going to ask:

“Why?”

“What could possibly possess you to do such a thing?”

“It’s only going up from here, you idiot.”

I get it, I really do. But for the first time in my investing career, I feel as though I understand the value of an asset. There’s an old saying by Warren Buffett that goes, “price is what you pay, value is what you get.”

A few months ago that saying finally clicked and it compelled me to sell my ETH. Here’s why.

I Sold Before the Recession

So let’s get this out of the way, I 100% still believe in the fundamentals of Ethereum. I think it’s a fantastic project with a bright future. But I also believe that we are in the midst of a global economic recession that will only get worse.

I’ve been writing about this since last year but it wasn’t until January that I started to put two and two together: Ethereum was going to be hit much harder than the stock…

--

--

Isaiah McCall
Yard Couch

Journalist for 99Bitcoins and former USA Today, also Ultramarathoner | On Substack: https://isaiahmccall.substack.com/ mccallisaiah@gmail.com