Be Careful When Predicting the Future

You might not like the answer

Eadig
Yasss Witch!
4 min readJun 5, 2020

--

I’m sitting here at the edge of my seat because I did something. I did something that I know I shouldn’t have done and, now that I know, I have to face the consequences. I asked one simple question and now for the rest of the year, I will be sitting, shaking, and wondering when it will happen. Because of the unpredictable madness that has been 2020 so far, I was curious. And I forgot the fact that curiosity killed the cat.

The current world events began to sink in even further throughout my day and I began to question both my place in the world and the future state of our society. Earlier this year, I had done a Geomantic reading that suggested that I would go through a ton of loss this year, including the inevitable loss of my job and, of course, my salary because of it as well as having shortages and delays in my career success. There was also the question of whether I was interpreting the section of the chart that rules death correctly. Was the symbol in this section suggesting that I would die or that I wouldn’t die? Was this a spiritual death, as in a change in the current state of being to create something new, or was this a literal physical death? And what would cause it?

After that point, I began to obsess and perform more and more readings, trying to understand what was happening and why. I tried to control situations in order to prevent them from happening or to get exactly what I wanted but in the end, most of the time, my efforts were futile. If things were supposed to happen, they were going to, and there was really nothing I could do about it.

This, of course, led me to my most recent predicament. I asked a simple question that would change my perspective on this year and my life for however long I have left. I asked, “will I die this year,” and as if I was holding a predictive eight ball, the results said, “all signs point to yes”. My immediate response was anger. How could I be so stupid? Why did I ask this question? What was I thinking? So, I began thinking about my life and everything I’d built for myself. Though I’ve been fortunate for a lot of my life, I’ve also experienced many hardships, losses, failures that I’ve had to crawl my way through and I’ve reached better ground because of them. Recently, given the current state of the world, I’ve become lethargic and I’ve succumbed the mental triggers that have kept me from performing to the best of my ability. I’ve made many mistakes, I’ve obsessed, I’ve gotten lazy, I’ve put things off, and I’ve stuck to my comfort zone for way too long. So, the next question I asked myself was, “what can I do to change all of that?”

I know that life is short and that bad omens are there to warn us of what might come. I know that if I change my behavior, my routines, my interactions that there’s a possibility that any warnings might not come into fruition so if the point of this reading was to scare me straight, it definitely did the job.

I may be on the edge of my seat throughout the year, knowing that the end might come at any moment, but to rectify my actions and non-action, I’ll be spending my time doing what matters the most; creating change and positively impacting the lives of others in any way possible. Without knowing whether this prediction is based on a spiritual transformation into a new state of being or a more literal physical interpretation, the best that I can do is change my habits and go out feeling like I made a real difference in some way.

If you’re looking to know your future, be careful of what you ask especially if you’re not willing to accept the answer. It’s easy to ask things on a whim and react to things out of impulse but it’s important to weigh the pros and cons of asking these types of questions. Ask yourself, “what will I benefit from knowing this answer,” and “will knowing this make a positive change in my life or the life of others around me?” If you’re willing to accept the answer, then get ready to embrace the major possibilities to come.

--

--