How a cup of water reminded me of Dinosaurs

Yat So
Yat's Blog
Published in
1 min readSep 11, 2015

The Story. My friend and I stopped by Dinosaurs (a Vietnamese sandwich shop) in San Francisco one summer night after accidentally getting on the bay bridge from Oakland. The friendly guy manning the counter asked if we would like anything to drink with our sandwich. My friend said no thank you(we were trying to save money). Instead of giving us a weird look, he immediately poured us two cups of ice water and told us that it was free.

Key Takeaway: #GiveFirst. The sandwich itself wasn’t very memorable for me but till this day I can still remember the name Dinosaurs because of how the guy treated us. After refusing to buy a drink from him, he still thought about how we cannot eat a dry Vietnamese sandwich without anything to drink so he took the initiative to offer us water without us having to ask. To me, that is great customer experience.

If you’re in the service industry, always find ways to offer your customers something for free that exceeds their expectations. They will remember.

Link: Dinosaurs http://www.yelp.com/biz/dinosaurs-san-francisco-4

Originally published at reallifeux.net on September 11, 2015.

--

--