How simple shoe covers changed I how I felt about AT&T

Yat H So
Yat's Blog
Published in
2 min readSep 10, 2015

The Story. The internet was down at the house. A Caucasian At&t technician was called in to fix it. Before I even had the chance to tell him to take off his shoes prior to entering, he pulls out a pair of disposable plastic shoe covers and puts it on. It made me feel at eased knowing that I wouldn’t have to risk sounding unreasonable in asking him to take off his shoes.

Key Takeaway: Little things matter when it comes to customer experience. Having him put on shoe covers before entering shows that he respects an Asian household. The shoe covers probably cost the company less than 20 cents but the impact it had on me as a customer was tremendous. I’ve had numerous cable/internet technician visits from Verizon, Time Warner, and Comcast. Every time was a hassle in getting them to take off their shoes, not once did they have the courtesy to bring along a pair of shoe caps. +1 to AT&T.

If you’re a plumber, electrician, or somebody with a business requiring home entry, just think about the customer loyalty you’ll earn with some simple shoe covers costing less than 20 cents.

Link: You can buy 100 shoe covers for less than $10 from amazon

Originally published at reallifeux.net on September 10, 2015.

--

--