The Banjo Was Originally a West African Instrument

Jeff Suwak
Appleknocker Radio
Published in
5 min readMar 27, 2019

--

Photo by imgix on Unsplash

For as long as I can remember, the banjo has been ingrained in my mind as a symbol of Appalachia and the southeastern United States. To me, it’s always been a hillbilly (term used with all love and respect, friends, I’m a country boy, too) instrument, synonymous with blue grass music. So, I naturally assumed the instrument originated in Appalachia, or at least in the American South. Turns out I was wrong.

During my recent interview with GangstagrassDan Whitener, the banjo wizard dropped some fascinating music-history knowledge on my dumbfounded ass. As it turns out, the banjo actually evolved out of an instrument brought to the United States by West African slaves.

Before even coming to Appalachia, in fact, the banjo was found in the Caribbean. This was as far back as the 17th century. The oldest known painting showing the instrument is called The Old Plantation and is believed to be from somewhere around 1785–1795.

It wasn’t until the 18th century that the instrument started to be named in written sources in North America, and it wasn’t until the mid-19th century that the instrument was being widely sold commercially.

Exactly what form the banjo took when it first reached the Carribean is the unknown piece of the puzzle. As it turns out, tracing back the banjo’s lineage is no…

--

--