Book in review: Women Who Run With the Wolves

Dovile Janule
Year in review
Published in
2 min readJan 31, 2017
Illustration by Dovile Janule https://www.instagram.com/dovilejanule/

Intuition, breaking free and true self. These would be few of the word I would start describing the book.

I was recommended this book by one of my friends and in the beginning, I was quite skeptical of it with the singing and mystical stories. But you just need to give that book a chance. A chance with an open mind that allows you to understand the meaning of all the stories written in the book.

A powerful thought of a woman who is kelp in captivity will never bloom, will suppress the natural and wild in herself. These things are given by nature, to create, to find and to shine in the world. And you might not be able to control your environment when growing up, or who grows you, but you can control the life you live after, the person you choose to have beside you, the man or the woman who should give a space and environment to nourish. The true and wild woman, who believes in herself, who is hungry for creating, open to the world, free to do what she likes and the way she likes it. This book inspired me to look back to my life and understand, accept and move forward. Move toward the direction I want to go, have the environment I want to have that enables me to create. The true power of creation that actually makes me happy.

This book has helped me to open my eyes, helped me to start listening to my inner voice once again.

It’s a treasure, it’s a book that every young and old woman must read. It’s a book that I will read again and again.

--

--

Dovile Janule
Year in review

UX’er, creator, doodler. Product designer at Zendesk.