Celeste McDonald
Year One KSU
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2016

--

A Guide to Belonging at KSU

I’m having a very hard time transitioning from high school to college. I still sometimes get turned around on campus, I’m living with a someone that I met less than three weeks ago, and I’m not used to the work load or the intensity of the assignments. Although I’m still getting adjusted to what seems like a new world, I’ve picked up a few habits that make college just a little bit easier for me and I’m going to share them!

1. Be safe. Since KSU puts a large emphasis on the safety of their students, I always feel very safe and secure here on campus. The institution has hotlines, emergency towers around campus and apps (LiveSafe) all devoted strictly to the safety and well-being of both residents and commuter students. Although most schools offer these resources, it is still your job to always be aware of your surroundings and make your safety a priority. Simple things like not walking alone at night, knowing your way around campus and having something like pepper spray or mace can promote personal safety. Ensure that you close and lock all doors and windows, especially at night.

2. Be mature. The best part about college is independence. You don’t have anyone telling you what to do or when to do it. With this independence comes your responsibility to stay focused, have discipline, and be mature. Have the maturity to know that you shouldn’t go out on a Thursday night if you have a Friday morning class. Have the discipline to wake up on a day that you don’t have class and spend hours in the library studying and completing assignments. If you need to turn your phone off while studying to help you focus, do it. You are your own responsibility now and you must be mature enough to handle that.

3. Be open-minded. College is all about new places, opportunities, and people. Go to as many campus events that you can, they’re awesome for meeting new people and you usually get free food. KSU urges students to get involved, be social, be diverse and seize all different types of opportunity. We have a study abroad program, a ton of different clubs and a very diverse student body. Be open to getting out of your comfort zone to learn new things inside and outside of the classroom.

4. Be healthy. Everyone wants to avoid the dreaded freshman fifteen. Although I’m sitting in the dining hall eating cheeseburger and fries as I type this blog post, I am here to say that healthy living and eating is very important in college. Our dining hall always has healthy food choices and since KSU just finished their fitness center, there’s always an opportunity to exercise, play tennis or go for a swim.

5. Develop good study habits. College is hard and study skills are very important. Find study strategies that work for you and use them to get you through the semester. The biggest piece of advice I was given before coming to college: do not fall behind. Always go to class, get assignments done as soon as you find out about them, and keep up with due dates. College moves fast and there are always overlapping assignments, staying on top of your classes eliminates stress and ensures good grades.

--

--

Celeste McDonald
Year One KSU

Hello! My name is Celeste McDonald & I’m a freshman at Kennesaw State University majoring in Criminal Justice. I love writing & I hope you enjoy my pieces!