All of Us Have Habits

Alex Smith
Year One KSU
Published in
2 min readJul 7, 2017

All of us have habits. There are some that we have for an extended period of time while there are others that we want to get rid of as soon as possible. My name is Alex Smith and I will tell about habits, mainly the ones I have in college so far. Habits can either benefit or hurt you with unpredictable results. With me being in college, I have found some strengths and weaknesses of college and various habits I have witnessed myself doing. I believe one of the best ways to solve this is to talk about them, so let’s get this started.

Let me start by talking about my strengths and weaknesses in college success. A strength for this is being involved in organizations and doing the best you can in all your classes. Even if you feel that what you are doing is the best you can do, then try harder since everyone can improve. Being in organizations can make you feel comfortable and find places that you belong. However, there are weaknesses like procrastination and not attending classes. Regardless of excuse, not going to class is bad since you will miss information given, leaving you behind from all the other students. Procrastination is the worst habit I have since I am still doing it, causing me to stay up late and got me in trouble with the teacher. Sometimes I just wish I could just instantly stop it.

Another thing to talk about in college in terms of habits are my worries in terms of studying and learning. For studying, I fear that what I study will not be on the test the teacher gives us next class sessions. Sure, it benefits me by allowing me to learn something, but it makes it pointless if the material that I studied was not even on the exam. For learning, it is just falling asleep. I do not want to fall asleep in class; after everything my parents did for me to get here only to sleep is the worst thing I have done. Going back to studying, I mainly focus on reading through a chapter, taking notes on topics that I believe are important. On some occasions, I would either quiz myself or try to talk to the teacher about it. One thing I should remember is that college is a gift, not a punishment.

Like mentioned before, everyone has that one habit you want to get rid of from your life forever. Unfortunately, you cannot destroy it, making it torture you for your whole life. If there is anything I could do to improve myself, it is time management. I need to learn how to use more time wisely, so I will finish work faster than ever. I could also improve by not getting distracted by my electronics, wasting my time when I should be working. I am not going to sugarcoat the fact that I have problems, but I feel with dedication and effort, I will be able to become the best college student I can be.

--

--