Architecture

Kyron Broughton
Year One KSU
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2016

I love to be creative! One of the lessons I was taught by my parents was, always be authentic. Everything I do, I try to do off of my creativity. Before entering college, I was unsure what I wanted to major in. I used to play video games all the time, and one of my favorite games to play was Minecraft. Minecraft is a game where you explore a world, and build different structures. Recently they implemented a creative mode in the game, and this changed everything. I was able to build anything I wanted with unlimited resources. I was so fascinated with the game that I could not stop playing. Some of my friends were amazed of what I built, from houses to different structures. From this point I decided I wanted to do architecture.

My mother is good friends with a doctor, who is close friends with an architect named Chris Goode. Soon after I made my decision, we decided to schedule a meeting/tour with Chris. I took a tour of his company located in Atlanta, Goode Van Slyke Architecture. I loved it! It was very interesting to see all of the projects the company was working on, and one of the biggest projects was the new Mercedes Benz stadium (New Georgia Dome). The office and the environment was so peaceful.

Becoming an architect is a process. It’s a five year degree program, and forty-two hour credit course. There are many classes that are required to major in architecture. I will need to take an orientation to architecture class, design communication class, various math classes, and various science classes. In order to recieve my Bachelor’s degree, I will have to meet all the requirements for general education, the lower and upper division requirements, the electives and University-wide degree requirements. I also must have an cumulative GPA of 2.5. The next thing I have to have is a portfolio. It must consist of art, design, and computer generated concepts. Other classes that are required are Environmental Technology, Architecture Cultures, Urban Planning and Design Theory, Thesis Prep, Professional Practice, Directed Study, and Focus Studio.

I want to design mainly houses. I find designing houses easier than designing buildings. I would consider designing cars too. Another reason why I want to become an architect, is they make a good income. According to glassdoor.com, architects can earn from $55,000 to $100,000+.

Becoming an architect is a big deal for me. It will be hard work, but it will all pay off in the long run. I would also be satisfied with my income, and the fact that I enjoy my job.

--

--

Kyron Broughton
Year One KSU

I am a first year student at student at KSU. I enjoy listening, playing, and learning all types of music. I also enjoy a good game of basketball.