Hcombs
3 min readSep 10, 2019

Can’t Cook? Join the Club!

From the hamburger section to the pizza counter, there always seems to be something delicious and new to eat on campus. Within the beginning three weeks of my first semester, I can say without a doubt my dining hall passes have not been wasted. Never within my four years of high school have I been provided with such variety and flavor. Unsurprisingly, I’m not the only one whose noticed the great food on campus either. Everyday my friends and I make our way to the dining hall and mix in with the bustling crowd of students holding plates of food I’ve sometimes never seen before. With all these delicious dishes, I’ve noticed that the kitchen in my dorm building is rarely ever used. In fact, I’ve spoken to my roommate and even some of my dorm neighbors and most of them told me they don’t even know how to cook. I was shocked at first, but then realized I was the same. I can at most cook some eggs and toast but not really a meal. I started pondering situations and asking myself, “What if I one day run out of dining swipes?” or “what if it’s a late night and the dining hall is closed?” What would I do then? With that, I eventually thought of the idea of a Culinary Club.

Being able to prepare your own food even with few ingredients is so important yet is becoming a lost skill. Too often we depend on restaurants, fast food or others to cook for us. What happens though when we are unable to have these privileges? Cooking is a basic but essential skill. With this, a culinary club would be greatly beneficial. Within this club, basic principles would be taught such as:

· Kitchen safety

· Preparation of basic meals (macaroni and cheese, spaghetti, soups, etc.)

· Budgeting and purchasing healthy and cost-efficient ingredients

· How to properly read recipe books and measurements

· How to work in groups and cooperate with others

Along with these there would also be celebrations for holidays and parties where students would prepare special meals of their choosing. Not only would this provide several learning experiences, but also allow students to form close bonds and relationships with other people in the club. An organization such as this would teach skills that will be useful now and later throughout a student’s life after college. This is yet another reason why a simple club focused on cooking is so essential. The impact may seem little now but is greatly significant in the future.

This club would not only be open to novices in the kitchen, but also to anyone who is interested in learning more or who is willing to mentor others. Following tutorials and recipe books are great but can only provide so much knowledge. Being able to provide people with a hands-on experience with actual mentors and other people to reference from creates such a unique experience than cooking alone in a kitchen. A culinary club would be a wonderful addition to the organizations of Kennesaw State University.

https://owllife.kennesaw.edu/