Hcombs
3 min readSep 24, 2019

Club de Français

Kennesaw State University has so many organizations and resources to offer that it is almost impossible to not be involved in at least one. As a freshman, I am already aware of numerous opportunities on campus that not only can create potential connections in the future but also are outlets where I can participate in the activities I enjoy with other people who are just as passionate as I am. One organization I have joined and am most excited about is the French club. I love French club because the organization is much more engaging and active than the former French club I was in during high school.

I have taken French for six years. I began in 7th grade and continued it throughout middle and high school. Despite my experience, I am not where I want to be. Along with the slow curriculum, I wasn’t as serious or consistent with the language as I should have been. This has hindered me greatly. Fortunately, now I have decided to start over to create a stronger foundation. I know much of the material already, so this is a refresher. Within the first few weeks of taking my French course, I joined the French club and automatically liked it by the first meeting.

In difference from high school, the majority of the conversations and encounters are in French. This has immersed me into the language and continually forces me to listen and understand what is being said. There are several cultural activities we do as a group. For instance, we have started to create children’s books for kids in French-speaking African countries, we plan to go to restaurants that serve authentic French cuisine and we have organized movie nights to watch French films. The activities are more hands-on than the activities from my high school which focused more on community service hours instead of French culture and language.

In addition to the activities, I enjoy being constantly immersed into French culture because my overall goal is to become bilingual. Bilingualism is too often overlooked. It may not be necessary, but the advantages the skill provides throughout life are incomparable and has an amazing impact to influence others. The key is to think ahead. No matter the career field I go into, having bilingualism as a skill on any application will spark interest in employers. Even aside from work, I want to travel to several French-speaking countries and engage in conversation. The ability to understand and interact in another language creates such independence because there is no need for translators or the hassle of trying to figure out a way to communicate. Also, once I start a family one day, I would love for my children to grow up knowing how to speak two languages because I know the ability would give them numerous advantages throughout life.

I am thankful I joined the French club and I plan to stay involved within the organization as long as I am a student at Kennesaw state university. This club has given me the motivation to join several others. I encourage everyone to join at least one organization while they are college students.

French club link to join below

https://owllife.kennesaw.edu/organization/french