College Life

Kyron Broughton
Year One KSU
Published in
3 min readJun 20, 2016

Going off to college was a big deal for my family and me. I am the first grandchild and everyone expects great out of me. This can be really annoying, because sometimes I can’t do things that my family think I can do. As the first grandchild, I had no choice but to go to college.

I honestly was nervous to go to college, because I knew I was not very good with being social. Throughout high school, I only attended a few football games and two basketball games. I also was very quiet, and had only a handfull of friends. Me being social was sitting on my bed playing Xbox with my friends online. On orientation day, I was so nervous the I almost began to shake. I soon met a few people, and learned that it wasn’t that bad. When my parents left me that night, I felt a sense of emptiness. I was so used to my parents feeding me and buying me things I needed, but everything change that second.

My first meal of the night was the worst. I didn’t want to go to the cafeteria by myself. My roommate never showed up, and I didn’t really know anyone on my hall. So that night, I ate a Poptart, two fruit cups, two peanutbuter cracker packs, and a Gatorade. It filled me up, so I was satisfied.

The next day, I met new people at movie night in my building. I met a few interesting people, and we all decided to hang out the next day. We played basketball for a good period of time. I met more people at the court that I now play basketball with. Ever since that day, I have started to enjoy my time at KSU a whole lot more.

I surprised myself about how social I have become. I used to not want to start conversations with people, now I push myself to talk to more people. I find this interesting, because not only am I engaging in conversation more, but random people want to start conversations with me.

When I’m not with my friends, I enjoy playing music. Music is something that will always be apart of me. I have been playing an instrument since I was two years old. I always enjoyed playing the drums, but I recently started playing the piano. My two biggest influencers in music is my dad and Cory Henry. Listening to them play makes me want become a better player, and it encourages me to work harder than others. I like to implement this mentality with school too. I can paly all day and night. Some of my friends encourage me to be great too. Overall, I will never stop music.

I am looking forward to this school year. I’m so excited to meet more people in the fall, and more importantly, reunite with my friends from home. I want to have as much fun as I possibly can while being on track with my grades. I want to explore more of the city, and find music venues. I want to make my family proud and make myself proud. I overall just want to be happy!

--

--

Kyron Broughton
Year One KSU

I am a first year student at student at KSU. I enjoy listening, playing, and learning all types of music. I also enjoy a good game of basketball.