College: What you thought it’d be v.s. What it actually is

Nikki Ventura
Year One KSU
Published in
3 min readJun 20, 2016

As a Senior in Highschool, I was so ready to GET OUT. I just wanted to grab my graduation money, and move out of my house to a place with a ton of people, and a ton of food. But this place that I was thrown into is not what I planned it to be. Not at all.

Here is what I thought my life would look like in college: Wake up sometime after 9:00 AM, go to breakfast with a few friends, go to all my classes like a good little student, study and do homework after class, eat a large lunch at the Commons, throw a solid nap in there somewhere, spend time with friends, try my best to figure out a workout routine and stick with it, and be in bed at a reasonable hour.

Sadly… I never achieved most of these things. Even now, I still don’t have a solid schedule. I’m still trying to figure that part out, along with where to find food after the Commons closes. Here is what my actual college schedule looks like: Wake up at 8:30 AM, walk to my friends dorm, skip the breakfast part because i’m too tired to care about food, and head to our 9:30 class. At around 10:30, I eat so much food that I can’t feel my limbs, then head over to my 12:00 class. That class gets out around 3:45, and then this is where things get interesting. This is where you make all those hard college decisions. This is where I could choose to use a “swipe” and head for more food. However, swipes are like gold here, so I try my best to conserve them. So now i find myself back in the dorms. I usually spend the next hour contemplating whether I should study, or nap…I typically fall asleep during this process. I then wake up, curse myself for falling asleep, then try my best to get some homework done. This continues until my friends force me out of my room for general horseplay until about 12:00 at night.

So to all those freshly graduated seniors who think that once they get into college, they’ll be able to really turn their lives around and have that college life that they dreamed of… you probably won’t. It’s actually a lot harder than it looks, and there aren’t actually that many hours in the day. There are definetly not enough to squeeze in everything that you have to get done, like sleep, exercise, eating, friends, homework, and maybe some studying. So every single day, you have to choose what you want, or need, most. And that’s the hardest part. That was the biggest slap in the face for me. I thought I would have plenty of time to get stuff done. But I don’t. And you probably wont either. But hey!! It’s okay. Because that’s what growing up is all about, right?

--

--

Nikki Ventura
Year One KSU

A cat enthusiast who studies at KSU, so I can spend more time with cats and get paid for it.