How to improve your campus social life.

Jmims
Year One KSU
Published in
3 min readAug 27, 2019

It’s not uncommon to feel lonely or bored as a freshman for the first couple of weeks at school. Interacting with complete strangers can be difficult or unsettling to most. I myself found it difficult as well, but it can be done with the right amount of motivation and charisma.

Social Events

Kennesaw State and many other universities have a social media account were they post all types of up in coming events. Personally more than a few of them look boring, and seem like a waste of time: however, they provide great opportunities . Many people are also looking to make friends or have a good time. The events encourage friendly interactions, making them quite easy if you’re willing to indulge yourself.

Making Conversation

Talking to people comes natural to some and can be strenuous to others. When beginning a conversation make sure to make eye contact, it helps display interest and confidence. You should look the other person in their eyes but not to the point to where it becomes staring. Body language is another important factor when speaking to someone, slouching shoulders and fidgeting can all be seen as signs of lack of interest. One way to make people feel more comfortable when talking to them is to maintain open body language, for example don’t cross your arms or turn your back on someone.

Exiting Your Comfort Zone

Arguably the most important way to improve your social life is to sacrifice a bit of your personal life. It took me a while to realize this. I am an introvert, I prefer the comfort of my own home and rarely go out. When I do go out, I hate being alone or being by myself. It feels weird and I’m sure many other people can relate. One way I would combat being alone is that whenever I saw someone interesting I would tell myself I have to talk to them now or I’ll never see them again. A college campus can be a big place, especially Kennesaw (student population of 38,000+). There is a very real chance you can meet a dozen new people on campus every day, or never see the same person more than once.

Planning Ahead

Once you make friends the struggle is not over. Everyone has their own individual schedule and plans so it can be hard to find a time where everyone is free. Communication is key, exchange schedules with your friends so you both can find optimal times to hang out.

Get Active

Joining a club/organization, or playing a sport is a great way to meet new people. Being a part of team builds camaraderie and can strengthen friendships. Playing sports can be a good icebreaker, and playing together builds trust. When you have to rely on someone else you strengthen your connection to them. Similar to the team dynamic of sports; clubs/organizations require team work to function at full capacity. Clubs and Sports in general provide ample time for small talk and personal interactions.

Your social anxiety may seem insurmountable; however, once you overcome that barrier you can cultivate true, meaningful, relationships.

--

--