I Thought I Had Nothing to Share

chelsea mills
Year One KSU
Published in
3 min readJul 6, 2016

Today after a long long day at school and work I come home to find my mom and step-dad sitting at the dinning room table waiting for me to come home. My immediate thought was “ something is wrong!”

I have been coming home late from work everyday for the past year and they have never waited up for me. All these crazy thoughts were going through my head like who died or what happened. It turns out it wasn’t anything crazy like that, we are just moving houses. Crazy right, all that stress and the “big news” is we are moving to a different house. “Whew” I thought to myself. I thought I was going to be receiving heartbreaking news. This is just a bump in the road. I can handle this right??

WRONG! It isn’t that simple for me. Moving thirty minutes away doesn’t seem like a big deal, but what about school? Now instead of traveling twelve minutes I have to commute thirty. What about my job? Instead of driving ten minutes it’s going to be forty. Do I need to quit? Transfer to a closer college? But these questions aren’t even the ones I am really worried about. My mother ended our conversation by asking me a question. She said to me “ Chelsea this move is going to be tough but it is the best thing for everyone else. You are old enough to make your own decisions so my question to you is, who do you plan on living with?

Some Background

My mom was a 15 years old when she got pregnant. She dropped out of high school to raise me along with the help of my father who has continued to be a big part of my life. They never married but have kept a relationship with each other for my benefit. They both found spouses and I have a wonderful step-mother and step-father who have been there for as long as I can remember. My entire childhood was spent driving between my moms house and my dads house. That is the only way It has ever been. I lived with my mom during the week and saw dad every other weekend and they took turns every holiday. Now my mom has hit me with this huge bomb and has blown my cozy little schedule to pieces. Now I am faced with a decision. Move In with my mom? Or move in with my dad?

This decision doesn’t even include all the added stress concerning my job or school? So my question to you guys is “ How am I supposed to choose between my parents?” How do choose my mom knowing that choosing her would mean me sacrificing important things like my job or even my education ? But at the same time How do I choose my dad knowing it will literally break my moms heart? They have both been amazing parents and I know they love me equally. So how do I choose?

This is a really hard decision to make and I would really appreciate feedback. Honestly right now I am at lost for words. I have no idea how I am going to proceed but I really want your opinions on this. What would you do? Who would you choose and why? And to think I thought I had nothing to write about

--

--

chelsea mills
Year One KSU

My name is Chelsea mills. I am a first year student at kennesaw university, perusing a degree in Early Childhood Education.