It’s In My Blood

Kyron Broughton
2 min readJul 6, 2016

--

I can’t think of a time that I have never been around music. As crazy as it sounds, but I have literally been around music since I was in my mother’s stomach. A couple of weeks ago, my mother shared a story to me about how I never stopped moving in her womb when my parents went to the Earth Wind & Fire concert. My whole side of my dad’s family is full of musicians, singers, and song writers. It’s almost like we (new kids) don’t have a choice to do music. The good thing is we all enjoy playing music.

My dad is a major musician in Atlanta. When I was young, I was always traveling with my dad, listening to some of the best musicians around the country. I was always interested in the drums, so when I was about four years old, my parents bought me a drum set. I continued to play drums until middle school, when I knew I was too big for my drum set, and my parents never bought me a new set. One day in my eighth grade year, I decided I wanted to learn the piano. I used to watch people go crazy over something that dad played, and that made me want to have that type of attention.

I started lessons with my dad eighth grade, but I quit shortly after. I didn’t have any motivation to practice. I felt so empty for a couple of years, and kind of put me in a sad mood. I was so frustrated with myself. I felt like I had so much creativity inside of me, but I didn’t know how to put it to my hands. A couple years later, I heard a young musician named Cory Henry, and he completely changed my whole mindset of music. I wanted to play just like him, in a short period of time. I started playing again when I turned sixteen. To this day, I listen to music differently, and I practice extremely hard. I have come so far with music that I learned almost two years of music in the matter of months.

I want to explore my gift more. It excites me to know what I’m capable of when it comes to music. Every week, I set a goal to be on a certain level, and practice as much as I can. I always wonder where my gift can take me. From this day on, I promise myself to be the best I can be.

--

--

Kyron Broughton

I am a first year student at student at KSU. I enjoy listening, playing, and learning all types of music. I also enjoy a good game of basketball.