Life Outside of the U.S.

Billy Calhoun
Year One KSU
Published in
1 min readJun 21, 2017

I was born in Yokosuka, Japan. My father was in the military and stationed in Japan and other countries around the world such as Germany, Russia, Europe, Korea, and China. It was very easy for me because I was born there compared to living in the US and moving to Japan. My mother was a teacher, so wherever we lived, she taught school.

I grew up learning Japanese as a first language. Everywhere I lived my goal was to learn the culture and of course the language. It has been wonderful and a very learning experience so if you have the chance to visit another country, go for it! Learn about the culture go the museums, learned the language, but most important talk to people. Talking to people ask them the ways of life compared to living in the US. The people you talk to in northern Japan vs southern Japan is totally different. But also enjoy yourself! Have fun and meet people, it could change you the way you see yourself and the world!

Life in Japan

--

--