Majoring in “Useless” Studies

Maxwell Blafer
Year One KSU
Published in
2 min readSep 17, 2019
Photo by Valentin B. Kremer on Unsplash

I want to major in History with a focus on public history (Libraries, Museums, and archives). From the moment, I said it, I have heard a string of concerns. “You will never get a job.” “You will never get a good job.” “You will live at home forever.” “There are no jobs.” My parents, both math majors, and don’t understand how their child could ever want to major in history. My dad hopes that I will change my mind and keeps telling me to have a backup plan.

For me, history is seeing how all the pieces fit together. In much the same way that my parents see math as the foundation for everything, I see history as a foundation. Even though human beings move through the world surrounded by technology, our core motivations are no different than a thousand years ago. Humans crave security, comfort, and purpose Its just our instincts. Even though it may sound clique, the study of history makes connections between humanity across time. You can see how the smallest actions lead to the biggest changes. Like the assassination of the archduke Franz Ferdinand, it damaged the Prussian empire that wasn’t very important, yet it started one of the biggest wars in history.

While some may see history as something of limited value, there is beauty in the winding paths which connect us from our past to our future.

--

--