Never Again!

Kyron Broughton
Year One KSU
Published in
3 min readJul 14, 2016

Who doesn’t like to have fun? When I was in the 5th grade, my family and I took a vaction to Chicago. We traveled to Chicago, because we were visiting my aunt. One night I noticed on my uncle’s computer the Six Flags website. I asked about it, and he responded by saying we were going to Six Flags the next day.

This day was going pretty good until it got really hot. My cousin, sister, and I were playing outside in the yard, and my mother came out to tell us that we were leaving soon. The three of us were stubborn and decided to play a little more. We suddenly heard a car engine go off, and at that moment we knew we just got left behind. We tried opening doors, windows, and we even tried banging on the doo and yelling to see if anyone was home. We started crying, thinking we were never getting in till late. We sat by the front door for two minutes and saw my mom pull back up laughing at us. My uncle and my mom thought it was hilarious.

We finally get to Six Flags thirty minutes later. It was my second time at a Six Flags, and I did not really enjoy my first time. When we walked through the entrance, I was a little scared, becasue the rides were so big. We started off with minor rides that weren’t really extreme. I was still afraid, so my cousin, sister, and I skipped the ride while my uncle and mom went on the ride. We skipped a few more rides, and then we entered the line for an extreme ride called “The Iron Wolf.” I watched my sister and my cousin cross the seats so they could skip the ride. My uncle got in front of me and my mom stood behind me. I tried to get around my uncle, but he wouldn't let me through. All of a sudden, I was yanked into the air and thrown into a seat. I was being held down by my uncle, and my mom slammed by bar over my body. I started screaming and crying in fear of the ride. And to make the situation worse, my mom and my uncle high fived each other in my face and said, “Great Teamwork!” The ride started and it took off so fast. We came across the first drop and I thought I was just going to die. I never screamed so much in my life. I remember getting off the ride, and my sister and cousin were laughing so hard at me. I began to laugh, because I thought about how ridiculous I probably looked.

After that day, I decided that I was never getting on a roller coaster ever again. To this day, my family and friends make fun of me because of my history with roller coasters. I have turned down so many opportunities to go to Six Flags with friends and family. Maybe, soon I might go back. But, that day was one of the craziest days of my life.

--

--

Kyron Broughton
Year One KSU

I am a first year student at student at KSU. I enjoy listening, playing, and learning all types of music. I also enjoy a good game of basketball.