Past, Present, Future

Nikki Ventura
Year One KSU
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2016

Highschool really sucked for me. The whole learning part of it. And it’s not because it was super hard, and stressful, it’s because it offered me nothing as a student.

If I had missed 180/180 school days, I could have still passed with an A. This is because the school nor the teachers cared about our education. They cared about our passing, but not our overall learning experience. This lead me to stop trying, and just do what I needed to get by. I forgot how to try, I forgot how to learn. But then I was required to do the B2S program at KSU. At first, I was very disappointed. I had no interest in doing the program and wasting away my summer. But I had to do it for my future, so I did. And I am so happy that i’m here.

I’m starting to learn again. I actually have to sit down, and do assigned readings. I have to study for tests. I have to show up to class. And it’s amazing. I have missed this feeling of learning so, so much. And I have my Freshman Seminar class to thank for. I feel smart again. That was a very important thing to feel that I was missing in Highschool. I lost that feeling the day I found out I had failed my freshman math class with a 69. After that, I felt like I was always going to do something wrong. But now, I feel like i’m doing something right again, and I now know that i’m doing something that’ll benefit my future.

Everyday, I feel like i’m preparing for my dream job. Everything I learn, I see as one more step towards my career. If I had not done this program or done this seminar class, I wouldn't appreciate, or even know how to learn like I do now. And this is something that is so vital for my future job. If I were to become a biologist, I would be required to learn everyday. And I would have to enjoy it. Thank God for B2S, and Thank God for Freshman Seminar.

--

--

Nikki Ventura
Year One KSU

A cat enthusiast who studies at KSU, so I can spend more time with cats and get paid for it.