Pre-Project Reflection

Skyler Ordean
Year One KSU
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2017

Pre-Project Reflection

When I graduated high school, I thought that I had been prepared well for the workload that was to come in college. I attended The Winter Sports School, which is a college prep school created to allow winter athletes to go to school in the summer, and have the winter off to focus on our sport. This was of course not easy, watching friends that you had grown up with enjoy the illustriousness of summer while you sat in a classroom. But, it was the best decision I could’ve ever made.

Since the school calendar was from April-November, it made the timeframe to get the curriculum done much shorter, resulting in more work in a shorter amount of time. I naturally created a good work ethic. It prepared me for the intense work/study hours that I have been putting in for this summer semester. Being a competitive snowboarder, I would often go on week-three week summer camps when I would normally be in school. My teachers would usually send me with work, and managing time between riding all day, working out, then doing homework has created better study habits for me as a student. Even when I came back from a camp or a trip, I was still given boatloads of work I had to make-up. That being said, I feel like my biggest strength is work ethic because I had a similar experience all throughout high school. I am prepared to give up a social life for school; it is what I have done throughout school anyway.

When I study or sit down to get a lot of work down, I like to be in a quiet environment with as little distractions as possible. The library is the best place I can be, where there is nothing that can pull me away from the task at hand. The biggest weakness in my study habits is unquestionably getting distracted. Moving away and living on my own, 2000 miles away from my parents, it is much easier for me to stray away from what I should be actually doing. Television, phone, food, laundry, couch, etc. My biggest worry is that these distractions will eventually impact my performance in class. But, I know that if I let myself get distracted and preoccupied, there will be an impact that isn’t ideal. Ever since 9th grade, my parents have taught me that the easiest way to get work done is to eliminate all distractions around you. Turn off your phone and just allow yourself to focus strictly on what’s in front of you, not what your plans are for after. That is the best advice that they could’ve given to me. KSU offers some great study spaces, where it is easy to get away and focus on what needs to be done. I have already taken advantage of the library countless times, and will continue to do so through the years to come.

--

--