Professor Interaction

De'Aja Asbury
Year One KSU
Published in
2 min readJul 7, 2017

After totally (not really but sort of) bumming my first in-class exam, I realized that my next exam is only two weeks away. Considering the fact that my college algebra math class consists of only five exams but is worth roughly sixty-six percent of my grade, indicates that I need to develop better study habits and skills that will be more efficient to me and my exam scores and not just for the sake of Dr. Trivedi’s Learning Project.

One of the four steps in becoming a self-directed learner is to seek help from your instructor, so before creating my plan of study, I had a chat with my math professor via D2L to get a better understanding of what I need to do before my next exam. Although my first exam was in-class, I learned that my next exam would not be. Instead, the exam will be online via MyMathLab, just as the class quizzes are. To my advantage, MyMathLab includes Study Plans to follow before you take a quiz or an exam. With these study plans, students are able to practice and solve problems similar to the ones that will be included on the exam. I was instructed to complete as many practice quizzes as possible and to take advantage of the unlimited amount of attempts until I successfully master each concept. I was also instructed to meet with our class’ S.I. if I needed a more extrovert way of studying.

Hopefully, I will be able to combine my professor’s as well as my own resources to develop an efficient plan of study that will assist me in scoring higher on my next exam.

--

--