“Psych Major… Ohhhh SoYou Wanna be Like, a Shrink Right?”

Aubrie Ellis
Year One KSU
Published in
3 min readSep 25, 2019

Whenever I brought up my interest in psychology back in high school, some people would give me a strange look, or question, why I would want, to “deal with crazy people.” While that was not the response from everyone around me, I heard these words or something similar quite often. I feel that a large amount of these responses stemmed from discomfort and the general stigma surrounding mental illness. It’s a known fact that most people deal with intense emotions, and everyone has a bad day every once in a while. But once these emotions cross over into something more severe or prolonged, people tend to become less understanding. I do not believe that the average person should be held responsible for another’s mental health, but lack of empathy or ridicule are not ideal reactions.

At times I become annoyed in regular conversations with my peers, and adults as well. There is just a general lack of knowledge. Offhand comments that are made sometimes sting, but I would rather not make the conversation awkward so there are times I won’t say anything or correct anyone. People who use mental illnesses as adjectives or treat them like legitimate personality traits, while simultaneously spouting ignorance, make my skin itch with irritation. For example: “I can’t even make up my mind, I’m so bipolar. LOL” There are so many things wrong with statements like this. Being indecisive is not an illness. However, periods of intense depression, followed by seemingly never-ending mania, would likely fit the criteria for bipolar disorder. The one comfort that I have in these situations, is that people are ignorant. They may not mean to offend, and ignorance is not okay, but that is exactly what it is. I have no problem with dark humor, I’m guilty of engaging as well. But I feel that there is a time and place and that there should be some type of a boundary within a group of people participating in these jokes.

So, when someone asks me now, why I would ever want to major in psychology, or whether I “Really want to deal with those people,” my response is genuine. I feel there is a lack of humanity when it comes to mental illness. People don’t treat depression and anxiety with the same acceptance and understanding as they would high blood pressure or an allergy. These are all conditions, they just affect different parts of the body. But not many people can see it in this way. I understand why. Emotions can be uncomfortable, along with talking about your problems. Some people are taught that being vulnerable and expressing their feelings is a weakness and not something to be encouraged. But that is neither healthy or purposeful. There is no reason why anyone should have to suffer in silence. Sometimes we have to be uncomfortable to figure out how to feel comfortable within ourselves once more. This type of work or interest may not be for everybody, and that is understandable. But, somebody does need to be there for people, especially those who are passionate about this topic.

--

--