The Best Things About College (So Far)

Nikki Ventura
2 min readJul 11, 2016

--

I have been a college student for a few weeks now, and as I near the end of this summer semester I have noticed that this hasn't been all that bad. Having to take these classes, wake up early, do homework, study… It’s not as terrible as some make it out to be. And I think it’s because of a few key things.

The Friends.

If I were to compare the amount of quality friends made in my entire highschool career to the amount I have made in a month here at KSU, the highschool friends don't even come close. The relationships you build in college are so much more real than the ones you make in high school, and it makes college so worth it.

The Entertainment.

Most of us come from small towns that probably hold a Walmart and maybe a movie theater about 10 minutes away from your house. But in a college town… There’s everything. A huge mall, 5 movie theaters, like 20 Waffle Houses, a place where you can pet puppies for free, even all the on-campus options… The oppurtunities are endless. It’s nice having so many things to do around here.

The Life Lessons.

I never understood why my mom (Brenda) made me wash out my dishes. Now I do. If you don’t wash your dishes, or in my case my one bowl, you wont be able to eat. This was a very important lesson. I feel myself slowly transitioning into an adult. And I kind of like it. I’m learning why certain things are important, and why certain things are not. I’m learning how to actually do laundry. I’m learning how to fill up my tires with air. And if I hadn't gone to college, I would probably still depend on someone else for clean shorts.

College is great. I have yet to have a “bad day,” everything is too good here to get upset. And not only am I having the time of my life, but It’s only been a month, and I already feel myself changing as a person. And I can confidently say, I’m ready for more.

--

--

Nikki Ventura

A cat enthusiast who studies at KSU, so I can spend more time with cats and get paid for it.