The Calculus of Dropping a Class

Maxwell Blafer
Year One KSU
Published in
2 min readNov 13, 2019
Photo by Olav Ahrens Røtne on Unsplash

I dropped a class for the first time in college. It felt like a personal failure, because of the stigma behind failing classes. I know that it isn’t failing, but it felt that way. I just had to take a step back and look at the class from a different perspective. Instead, I looked at it from a HOPE scholarship
standpoint. If I were to stay in the class and really fail, I would end up lowering my GPA.

I looked at it from a learning standpoint.

I realized that struggling with this class was harming all of my other classes. I was spending so many hours on this single class that it was draining my studying and having me worn out by the time I started working on other topics.

I looked at the decision from a fiscal perspective.

Dropping this class basically cost me a class worth of Hope money. I will have to pay for one more class than I receive credit. This cost is offset by the 5 dual enrollment classes I took before KSU. Even so, I don’t get to escape this class. I will need to take it during another semester, possibly over the summer. Also, since this is a 4-class series, I will be a semester out of sync with the normal track. While both of the intro classes are offered every semester, the 2nd year classes will be harder to find.

I knew that this was going to be a tough class for me going in. I was right. I have had a tutor to try to compensate. It wasn’t good enough. But I now have the material and only 4 classes. I am going to keep going to my tutor for the rest of the semester. She now knows exactly what to teach me. I am hoping to be ready so that when the next semester comes that I can pick the class up and ace it.

And lastly, I looked from a mental perspective and saw that it was just taking up my time and adding stress to an already stressful first year.

So, looking back I think I made a good choice.

--

--