The future is in my hands

chelsea mills
Year One KSU
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2016

My whole life has been centered around children. From volunteering in the nursery, babysitting, or even helping out with my six younger siblings, young children have always been a part of my life. Every one always told me I had a natural gift with children. So, when I entered high school I decided to expand my knowledge and turn babysitting children into TEACHING them. I enrolled in a Early Childhood Education class and everything I thought I knew was blown out of the water. Turns out teaching children the ABC’S isn’t as easy as I thought. The first year was a struggle. I pushed through and four years, three classes, and 150 lesson plans later I am the proud owner of a CDA certification.

People always ask “ why do you want to work with children all day?” It is proven that the first five years of your life are the most important when it comes to development. It is not just about learning math and how to read. It’s about learning social skills. How to talk to your peers, learning how to identify and handle emotions. The first five years are creating the foundation for the rest of your life. If I have the ability and knowledge to help these children there is absolutely no reason for me not to. One day these children will be leading the country and knowing that they were properly educated is all I could ask for.

Most people have a hard time deciding their major when coming to college. For me, there was no question. College was the next step in a path I have been on since my freshmen year. My whole life I have been ready to be called Mrs. Chelsea.

--

--

chelsea mills
Year One KSU

My name is Chelsea mills. I am a first year student at kennesaw university, perusing a degree in Early Childhood Education.