dmccray
5 min readAug 26, 2019

The University Chronicles: Learning to Balance Work and School

It’s that time of year. You have purchased your school supplies, you have your class schedule, and…you have a job. How does one manage? Like many college students, I work and go to school. For me, it is imperative that I find equilibrium in everything I do. Otherwise, I’m anxious and I cannot function properly. Disorganization can lead to an immense amount of stress in college. Here, I will offer six tips that I have learned about managing work and school.

  1. Validate Your Feelings

Between working in an office, coming to class twice a week, and completing work for my online classes, I often feel overwhelmed. It is important to remind yourself that is absolutely normal to feel swamped when you first start college. You may feel anxious, inadequate, and you may even want to quit. Acknowledge these feelings, but try your best to be proactive as you enter this new chapter of your life. One of my favorite affirmations to keep in mind is, “I am safe. It’s only change.” You will be able to manage everything that life throws at you. Your mindset has a lot to do with how you tackle new life situations.

2) Make School Your Main Priority

School should always be your top priority. Jobs come and go, but education is forever. When dealing with the workload of school, it is tempting to put your coursework on the back burner. You want to invest a good amount of time and effort into your education.

If you are able to do so, try to schedule work around your school schedule. Speak with your supervisor ahead of time. If your job is unwilling to work with you, find a job that will treat your education as a priority. It is recommended that college students work no more than 10 to 15 hours a week. If you find yourself working more hours, I suggest that you allow a day or two of rest. Consider requesting weekends off, and only work on weekdays. Everyone’s circumstances are different, but these are some things to take into consideration with your place of work.

3) Don’t Be Afraid to Say “No”

In the words of Anne Lamott, “No is a complete sentence.” As I’m navigating adulthood, I’m also learning how to set boundaries for myself. If you know you have an important exam, don’t agree to go to a college party the night before. There are so many other opportunities to party and socialize in college. You may be able to compromise, but don’t allow yourself to be overwhelmed. For example, I was asked to work extra hours once I started school. I agreed to work an extra hour or two on Fridays, but I didn’t agree to work extra hours on school nights. Just plan ahead and determine what works best for you. Remember Tip #1, school is your first priority.

4) Utilize Your Free Time

I commute to school twice a week. The drive is a little under two hours, so I often use that time to relax with my headphones, or read my textbooks while I ride. Depending on your work hours, you may want to consider working on assignments before your shift starts. You may even want to catch up on class readings during your break. Utilize any extra time that you have.

5) Stay Organized

Write everything down. One of the most useful tips I have obtained is to keep a planner. This helps me keep up with due dates, projects, and exams. I also use it for work. I know what days I have off of work, which in turn, helps me to better plan my study time. If you get your days mixed up, refer to your planner to stay on track. I cannot stress how helpful this has been for me. Planners come in all sizes and forms: big, small, and even electronic. Find what best resonates with you and utilize it for work and school.

6) Go to Sleep!

In the previous tip, I mentioned working on your school assignments during your free time. Those are just things to consider, but don’t forget to take breaks. Avoid all-nighters! You probably won’t retain the information as well as you would if are rested and alert. Getting eight hours of sleep is almost unheard of these days, but make sure that you are resting well. It will give you time to recharge your energy, so you can put more effort into your classwork. Sleep is also a form of self care, so it is just as important as hygiene or physical health. Lack of sleep can affect your overall mood, which can eventually affect your mental and emotional health. Remember to be kind to yourself, and rest when necessary.