The Zodiac Guru Club

Julia Jenkins
Year One KSU
3 min readSep 12, 2019

--

Zodiacs are 12 signs derived from the constellations that mark out the path of which the sun passes through the course of a year. Depending on the month and day you were born, from that, you can determine your Sun sign. It can be one of the 12 signs which are: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. My birthday is December 11th so that makes my sun sign Sagittarius. There is so much more when it comes to astrology such as moon signs, ascendant, mercury, houses, being on the cusp, etc., it would be nearly impossible to talk about everything astrology is about in one sitting.

Because there is so much that goes into astrology and so much you can learn about a person by looking at their chart, imagine being in a club where you expand each other’s minds on the subject. There are countless books about astrology that contain everything you need to know to be able to read someone’s chart. There are also some popular apps (such as Co-Star) that create your chart for you after submitting information about when and where you were born. You can even add friends on the app to either see their chart or compare charts to determine your compatibility within each of the planets. With these kinds of resources and a group of people passionate about the depths of astrology, you don’t know how much you could learn! I think it would be a lot of fun to get together read books that inform about the topic, watch documentaries, communicate on apps, and even make art related to astrology.

I believe the biggest reason there are some people skeptical about the accuracy of astrology is because they don’t dive deeper than their sun sign. Although the sun sign is the most well-known aspect of zodiac signs, it’s not an important part of the big picture. Your sun sign determines your ego, identity, and “role” in life. With my sun sign being Sagittarius, that means I am fundamentally curious, restless, and independent; which is pretty much what I’ve been hearing from my parents my whole life. Let’s take a look at the other signs involved such as the moon sign. The moon rules your emotions, moods, and feelings. This is likely the sign you most think of yourself as, since it reflects your personality when you’re alone or deeply comfortable. With my moon being in cancer, this means that my emotional self is sensitive, thoughtful, and empathetic. I get these descriptions of my sign meanings through the Co-Star app (which I highly recommend — it’s very accurate, in-depth, and insightful!). Just to really push my point across, that astrology is more than just one silly sign that supposedly says everything about you, I’ll end this with ascendant or rising. Your ascendant is the “mask” you present to people. It can be seen in your personal style and how you come off to people when you first meet. My ascendant is in Leo which means I come off as bright, good-natured, and magnetic. I’m sure everyone reading this doesn’t know me personally or very closely, but to me and to my close friends, these three signs of mine are very accurate. Sometimes the accuracy is scary.

I could dive so much deeper into my personal signs and meanings, but I will spare you. This is such a fun and enlightening subject to learn and talk about, but it’s even better when you’re having a conversation with people as interested and/or knowledgeable as you are. And that is the beauty of organizations and clubs.

--

--