Photo by Marcus Ginns

Engineers wanted

Hiut Denim Co
Yearbook two
Published in
1 min readJan 18, 2018

--

I don’t want to simply exist in the world. I don’t want to spend my time surrounded by immutable objects, constructions designed by others with the intention of my lifestyle fitting them rather than them being designed to fit me. I want to be more than a simple consumer; I want to be a creator. I want to shape the world to fulfil my own desires, my own needs, to be a different state to how I found it, one object at a time.

To hack is to make and object do something it wasn’t designed for: to repurpose it; to re-imagine it; to make something of your own design.

A couple of cans become a phone line when connected to a taut length of string. This page becomes an origami crane when ripped out and folded.

Find something, make it something else. Do it. Consider it a challenge.

The above was an excerpt from Hiut Denim Co. — YearBook 2. We only printed 2000. They have all sold out. But you can get a free digital version of YearBook 1 when you sign up for our newsletter here.

--

--

Hiut Denim Co
Yearbook two

Our town is making jeans again. Founders: @DavidHieatt & @ClareHieatt Do one thing well.