Illustraion by Bjorn Rune Lie

Quiet rage

Joel Bukiewicz

Hiut Denim Co

--

There’s a quiet rage in the craftsman who spends an extra hour, an extra day, pushing his work toward perfection. The swollen knuckles, the missing fingertips and cracked skin. There’s a rage behind doing it right. A rage against profit, and scaling; against outsourcing, and wholesaling, and cheaper and more. A rage against the sacrifice it demands, and the ease with which it might slip away.

There’s a rage in saying I don’t want your money, what I want is to do it right. It’s a rage against mediocrity, and all the garbage touted as design that stuffs our world.

I used to think that making as perfect a thing as I’ve got it in me to make filled me up. But the truth is I’m overfull. When I finish a piece that’s more perfect than perfect, it’s an unbuckling, a pouring out. The rage is all and I’m King Kong on the loose, rampaging neighbourhoods.

Joel Bukiewicz makes knifes for people who love to cook. He lives above his workshop in Gowanus, Brooklyn with his wife Julia.

@cutbrooklyn

The above was an excerpt from Hiut Denim Co. — YearBook 2. We only printed 2000. They have all sold out. But you can get a free digital version of YearBook 1 when you sign up for our newsletter here.

--

--

Hiut Denim Co

Our town is making jeans again. Founders: @DavidHieatt & @ClareHieatt Do one thing well.