My writing in 2016 and what I hope to do in 2017

Brian Fleurantin
Years in Review
Published in
4 min readDec 29, 2016

2016 was an incredibly challenging year for me. I returned to school after a year off in order to earn my Bachelor’s Degree. I also managed to learn more about myself and how I handle adversity and setbacks in my life. And, I started my third year as a full time sportswriter.

As a sportswriter, you have to be aware of everything going on around you. The news influences the players you cover, how they approach the communities they live/work in, and how fans interact with them. As a writer, it’s your job to analyze the events occurring in the greater community, how they impact the games you cover, and what is being done in response to it.

I didn’t write as much as I would have liked to this year, but here are five of my favorite articles that were published.

A look at the end and evolution of big men (Netsdaily)

Whether it’s basketball, politics, music, etc, it’s crucial that you know your history. That history serves as a bridge between past and present and can teach you things you may not have previously known. In February, I took a look at discussions surrounding the center position in the NBA going back to 1988, how the position has changed over the years, and what the future holds for it. The research aspect of this assignment helped keep me on my toes and learning some more history of the game is always a positive.

On DeAndre Jordan, Brook Lopez, and the continued importance of big men (Netsdaily)

One of the most important things I always try to keep in mind is that nothing I write is perfect. There’s always a possibility that there is something I didn’t discuss enough or missed entirely. This article from August was an attempt to follow up on some things I didn’t adequately cover in February and sought to fill some gaps. I tend to write everyday and going back to previous pieces and reassessing my thought processes and how I structured them helps me gain an even better understanding of my style, strengths, and what I need to get better at.

On speaking up, using your platforms, and taking big risks (Medium)

If there’s been one overarching theme of sports in 2016, it’s been the turn to activism among the players. With greater awareness of social issues and how they affect us, athletes and sports leagues began to speak out and use their platforms in attempts to effect change. In this story, I took a look at July 2016 in the WNBA and NBA and how they responded to the major cultural events of the moment (HB2 and the deaths of Alton Sterling, Philando Castile, and five Dallas police officers). As we approach a Donald Trump administration that figures to threaten the rights of millions of Americans, it’s going to be fascinating to see how athletes respond and how they choose to use their platforms. There’s room for everybody to enact change and as we contain working towards true equality, we’re going to need everybody to chip in.

On a personal note, this story was incredibly important for me to write. Earlier in the year, I had to take an extended break from writing after an issue came up in my personal life. I lost my desire to write and even go to school for a while. I was able to make it through the semester, but it took a while for me to get back into writing. Writing this piece helped take my mind off of things and inspired me to get back to work on other assignments.

Big money, the NBA, and the little guys (Medium)

The NBA and the National Basketball Players Association agreed to a new collective bargaining agreement earlier this month, and there were some new changes that intend to help improve the Developmental League. In August, I took a look at what the D-League currently is and how the NBA can better improve the lives of the athletes who play there. The D-League is a sometimes forgotten part of the NBA puzzle, and as the league works to make it a true minor league system, it can have dramatic effects on the quality of play with the big clubs. As the NBA reaches new heights, it’s important to remember the little guys and minor players that make up the backbone of the league.

About Colin Kaepernick not voting (The Cauldron)

There might not have been a more important figure in sports or entertainment this year than Colin Kaepernick. After kneeling in a preseason game, Kap sparked broader discussions about police brutality, how athletes engage with political issues, responses to protesters, and how we as a society can work better to end racism and discrimination. Kaepernick got himself in trouble by saying he didn’t vote in the Presidential election.

For my article in November, I took a look at Kap’s decision as well as the discussion surrounding it. I think the discussions surrounding voting (or not voting in this instance) have a lot of value and they become even more nuanced when taking into account the work Kaepernick has been doing in the community. There isn’t a “right” answer here, so exploring all facets of the issue can help us gain more understanding.

My goal for 2017

As I enter 2017, I hope to push myself to write even more. There have been times when I have discouraged myself to put articles out, but I hope to get over that and expand the amount of topics I write about. It’s always good to challenge yourself, and by taking on more assignments, reading more, and varying my subject matter, I can become a better, more insightful writer.

--

--