Some Things I Wrote This Year

Here is a list of some of my favorite things I wrote in 2014:

Kevin Fanning
Years in Review
2 min readDec 30, 2014

--

A story about Beyoncé and Solange eating at Chipotle.

The Biography of Paul Ford, an attempt to figure out what you really know about someone based on what they say about themselves online. (This ended up being a great collaboration with Paul.)

A look back at S1 of Keeping up With The Kardashians.

An essay about parenting and video games and Mountain Dew for Maura Magazine.

A story about personal brands and gender roles and Instagram culture for The Lifted Brow.

I interviewed myself once a month using questions I repurposed from other interviews I found online. The most successful ones were March (10 Culinary Questions for Gwyneth Paltrow), June (algorithmically generated Google questions), and October (cancer risk survey).

A response to a piece on Bustle about Kim Kardashian Hollywood.

And nearest and dearest to my heart and still ongoing, I spent a good chunk of the year writing a story about Kim Kardashian being trapped inside her own game. So far it’s about 40k words, it’s gotten over 500k views, and it’s somehow developed a really passionate fandom of readers who post theories about upcoming chapters, shorthand names for the characters they ship, enthusiastic comments like “BRUH” and “SLAAAAYY”, and insistent (and very motivating) appeals for me to write it faster. It’s created a community, which is more than I hoped for or imagined when I started it very much on a whim.

This was the 16th year that I have been putting words on the internet. Thank you for sticking with me for another year, and thank you for reading.

--

--

Kevin Fanning
Years in Review

This is for the steppers. Strictly for the steppers.