How I speed up making videos (on YouTube and Instagram)

Roy Honders
yes-coding
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2019

--

Yesterday I came across the exact solution to a problem I was facing.
Because I am doing Instagram stories right now about lessons that I have learned and want to share to other people. But the problem here is, that I am too lazy to edit out all the moments that I am pausing in the moments between speaking.

This right here is the most amazing project that I have been fortunate enough to learn about in the recent past:

Best video I discovered in the recent past. :)

What I can do with it is cut out pauses out of a talk video, like I’m doing on my Instagram.

So how can you use this program that is being displayed in the video?

There is a couple of requirements:

  • Then in the above image you can see that we have to run the command pip install -r requirements.txt in order to install all the necessary dependencies.
  • after that we can just run a command like:
  • python jumpcutter.py --input_file 1.mp4 --sounded_speed 1 --silent_speed 999999 --frame_margin 2

This command will cut away all the video that doesn’t have any audio. So when you are making a talk video you can cut away all the pauses and have an entertaining video! :)

Note: this method didn’t really work well for my YouTube tutorials where I am showing things while talking. The synchronisation went really bad. It would be really good if it worked, since the video duration was cut from 21 minutes to just 15 minutes.

If you like my efforts sharing my knowledge and the discoveries that I am making, please follow me on here and on Twitter:

--

--

Roy Honders
yes-coding

Working as a frontend developer at Quintor. Currently writing short stories about tech.