The best tool for geospatial analysis in Node.js

Roy Honders
yes-coding
Published in
1 min readFeb 19, 2019

--

Last Friday at my internship I tried playing around with some anonymized GPS data, just to get a feeling on what I could achieve with all that data.

In order to do that I wanted to find a helper library for Javascript (specifically Node.js) because that is what we use at the internship company.

After some searching, I stumbled upon Turf.js. This library has a ton of features, all of which you can find on their website. I used their bboxPolygon functionality to find a GPS point inside a certain area.

The library is using the geoJSON format, which I didn't know about yet. So today I decided to look at the RFC specification about that format. That way I could actually learn about what I was using behind the scenes, using this library. I am convinced this knowledge will help me to further complete my internship assignment.

If you like these short stories about my findings and the tools that I use for my work, you should follow me.

--

--

Roy Honders
yes-coding

Working as a frontend developer at Quintor. Currently writing short stories about tech.