R in the Cloud

Berk Orbay
Yes R Can

--

About deploying R and R Studio on cloud servers. Digital Ocean is the first tutorial. Soon, AWS. Btw, If you don’t know about Eye in the Sky by Alan Parsons Project, please listen.

I know, there are many tutorials on putting R and R Studio on the cloud, especially Digital Ocean. Mine even can be a copycat (let me list some sources at the bottom to ease my conscience). Though, I keep losing the sources. Therefore, I made my own and share it with you. Once you have a DO account, the rest takes less than 5 minutes and 5 lines of code. Actually, it is easier than setting up R and R Studio locally.

Once you are set, you will have an R Studio instance that can be reachable via a web browser. It means you can “run” R on your tablet or mobile phone. It is incredibly useful for other purposes as well.

Although there are other methods, the easiest way goes through using rocker (a Docker container). Do not download it, I added the link just for the information.

See the tutorial here, enjoy.

ps. pdf version can also be found on the main site

Other Sources

--

--

Berk Orbay
Yes R Can

Current main interests are #OR and #RL. You may reach me at Linkedin.