Kelime Günlüğü #1

Gizem Ciftci
Yetkin Yayın
Published in
5 min readJan 26, 2024

İngilizce dil becerilerimi geliştirme yolculuğumda, çok sayıda bilmediğim kelimeyle karşılaşıyorum. Bu kelimeleri not alıyorum, ancak aktif olarak kullanmadığım için unutuyorum.

Bu duruma bir çözüm bulmak için, kelimeleri nasıl daha etkin bir şekilde öğrenebileceğimi düşündüm. Aklıma her bir kelimeyle kısa diyaloglar oluşturmak geldi. Bu yöntem, kelimeleri gerçek yaşam bağlamında kullanmamı bu da onları daha kolay hatırlamamı sağlayabilir diye düşündüm.

B2 seviyesinde, günlük dilde kullanılabilecek diyaloglar oluşturmaya özen gösterdim. Bu, hem dil becerilerimi geliştirmeme yardımcı olacak hem de yeni kelimeleri daha kalıcı hale getireceğini umuyorum.

Hadi, diyaloglara bakalım.

  1. Intention: Niyet, Gaye, Amaç

Arthur: I’ve noticed you’ve been staying late at the office recently. What’s your intention
Billy: My intention is to finish the project ahead of schedule. I believe it will demonstrate my commitment and might increase my chances for the upcoming promotion.
Arthur: That sounds like a solid plan (Sağlam bir plan). Just make sure you’re not overworking yourself.

2. Inevitable: Kaçınılmaz

Emma: Hi Mark, have you finished your assignment for Professor Lily ?

Mark: No, not yet. I’ve been working on it, but it seems like a late night is inevitable.

Emma: I know what you mean. I still have a few more pages to write for mine.

Mark: It’s just so much work, and the deadline is approaching fast. It feels like it’s inevitable that we’ll be up all night.

Emma: I agree. But we can help each other out. Let’s take a break, grab some coffee, and then get back to it with a fresh mind.

Mark: Good idea, Emma. It’s inevitable that we’ll get it done, but a short break won’t hurt.

3. Foggy: Sisli

Alice: How was your morning run today, Bob?
Bob: It was quite challenging, Alice. The weather was extremely foggy, so visibility was low.
Alice: That sounds tough. Did you consider quitting the run?
Bob: I did, but then I thought it would be a good opportunity to test my navigation skills.
Alice: That’s a great way to turn a challenge into an opportunity. Well done, Bob:))

4. Elated: Mutlu, Sevindirilimiş

Emily: Hey Jack, how was your interview at the tech company?

Jack: Oh, it went well! I’m elated about it.

Emily: That’s fantastic news! What made you feel so positive about it?

Jack: Well, the interviewers were impressed with my experience and skills. They offered me the job on the spot! (hemen)

Emily: Wow, Jack, that’s amazing! Congratulations! You must be on cloud nine(mutluluğun doruklarında) right now.

Jack: Absolutely! I’ve been looking for a new opportunity for a while, and finally landing this job has me feeling elated and relieved.

Emily: I can imagine! When do you start?

Jack: I’ll be joining the team next month. I can’t wait to get started on this new chapter in my career.

Emily: I’m genuinely happy for you, Jack. Your hard work has paid off, and I’m sure you’ll do great in your new role.

Jack: Thanks, Emily. I appreciate your support.

5. Help me out: Yardımcı olmak

Tom: Hi Lisa, can I ask you for a favor?

Lisa: Sure, Tom! What do you need help with?

Tom: I’m trying to organize this event for our team, but I’m a bit overwhelmed. Can you help me out?

Lisa: Of course! I’d be happy to help. What specifically do you need assistance with?

Tom: Well, I need to create a schedule, but I’m not sure where to start.

Lisa: No worries. Let’s break it down together. First, we can list the main activities and then allocate time for each. Does that sound good?

Tom: That sounds like a plan. Thanks for helping me out, Lisa!

Lisa: Not a problem, teamwork makes things easier.

6. Engross: Cezbetmek, Dalmak, Dikkatini Vermek

Tom: Hey, have you started reading that new novel?

Emma: Oh, definitely I started last night, and I couldn’t put it down. It’s so engrossing.

Tom: Really? What’s it about?

Emma: It’s a mystery thriller. The plot is so intricate, and the characters are well-developed. It completely engrosses you in the story.

Tom: Sounds interesting. I used to read a lot, but lately, I’ve been hesistant to start a new book.

Emma: Don’t take it so badly. This one might be the perfect one to get you back into reading. It’s worth it!

Tom: I’ll consider it. I’m willing to give it a shot.(Şanş vermeye istekliyim) What’s the title?

Emma: “Whispers of the Shadow.” Trust me, you won’t regret it.

Tom: Alright, I look forward to getting engrossed in it. Thanks for the recommendation!

7. Occasion: Fırsat, Durum, Ortam

Emily: Hey, Jack! How’s it going?

Jack: Hey, Emily! Not bad, just planning something special for Sarah’s birthday.

Emily: Oh, that’s great! What’s the occasion?

Jack: Well, it’s her birthday next week, and I want to surprise her. We haven’t celebrated properly for ages.

Emily: That sounds wonderful! Have you thought about what kind of surprise you want to arrange?

Jack: Yeah, I’m thinking of organizing a small party with some close friends.

Emily: Perfect idea! I’m sure she’ll be elated. What does she like? Any specific themes?

Jack: She’s into retro stuff, so I’m going for a ’70s theme. And I’ll be making her favorite homemade chocolate cake. She deserves it. Plus, it’s a good excuse to get everyone back together and celebrate.

Emily: Absolutely! Let me know if you need any help.

Jack: Thanks, Emily! I appreciate that.

Emily: I’m sure it will be. Looking forward to celebrating with you guys!

Bazı diyaloglar uzun olduğu için sıkılmamanız için 7 farklı kelime veya kalıp yazdım. Umarım sizler için de faydalı olur.

--

--