Designer Spotlight: Jay Sheets

Erin Pfiffner
Yext Design
Published in
3 min readDec 14, 2020

This posting expresses the views and opinions of the authors and does not necessarily reflect the views of Yext and its affiliates, employees, officers, directors or representatives.

To showcase our designers, we occasionally put a Yexter in the limelight. Today’s teammate is Jay Sheets, Senior Video Producer for Yext’s Creative Studio team in New York City. Strap in and enjoy the read!

Jay Sheets, Senior Video Producer @ Yext

What were you doing before joining Yext?

I started my career as a Video Producer at a small agency in Indianapolis and then decided to move to New York and landed a job as a Production Coordinator at another agency before getting back into video full-time at Yext.

What is it about Yext that makes you love your job?

Yext has given me the opportunity to travel to our offices all over the globe. I love meeting people of different backgrounds and filming/editing videos in different languages. It’s a fun challenge.

What are your favorite kinds of projects at Yext?

My favorite projects are customer stories. They’re also a fun challenge. Schedules are always tight but when it all comes together, and goes smoothly (with a few bumps along the way), it’s a great feeling.

Yext Customer Success Story: Three Mobile

What do you know now that you wish you knew when you started your career?

It’s not all about the edit. I love editing but I used to constantly think about it while filming, but since joining Yext I’ve been able to slow down and appreciate trying to nail down things like lighting and composition. It’s allowed me to be more present during shoots and make sure I get the best shot I can.

How would you describe your signature design style?

When I can go for quirky, I go for quirky. :)

New York Is Dead When I F#*$%in’ Say It’s Dead. | LinkNYC Ad

What job or project have you learned the most from so far, and what did you learn?

We filmed a customer story in London and we hired a really talented local Director of Photography. I usually film by myself so it was great to have someone so talented alongside me to bounce direction and creative ideas off of. You also learn so much from other videographers when you collaborate on projects — new techniques, new equipment, etc. It’s exciting.

What would be a dream project for you?

Film a commercial with a celebrity spokesperson (preferably Lebron James… a “Lebron Answers” series. Boom! Idea!). Client: Adidas

What areas of your work or personal development are you hoping to explore next?

I can always improve my lighting and filming techniques. That’s my focus.

What’s the last thing that made you say “wow”?

You Can’t Stop Us | Nike

The reason I love this ad so much is because Nike was able to discover so many interesting shots that juxtaposed perfectly with one another. They took a simple editing technique and pushed it further.

Where do you draw your inspiration from?

I watch a lot of commercials and follow tons of designers and videographers on Instagram that inspire me. Here are a few:

What is one of your design pet peeves?

When I warn people that there is watermarked music in a video draft and they still ask what the noise in the background is.

Who do you admire professionally?

I admire a lot of production studios like Bindery in NYC and Think Ahead Studios in Indianapolis.

Any advice to up and coming creatives?

Just start making stuff! Even fake portfolio work is better than no portfolio work.

Where do we go to learn more about Jay?

My online portfolio

Any final shout-outs or things you want to share with our readers?

“Life’s a garden. Dig it.”
— Joe Dirt

Check out our profiles: Owen, Alex, Christos, Colleen, Jay, Tyler, and Millie!

--

--

Erin Pfiffner
Yext Design

Product Design Leader @ Yext • Zealous and self-driven creative with commitment to human connection & exceptional user experience that yields results.