Barcelos: Waffles, Ice-cream and Syrup

Odunayo
Yinka Eats Food
Published in
3 min readMay 2, 2016

Isn’t it strange that the Barcelos at Ikeja City Mall (or at any other mall I’ve visited) doesn’t serve Waffles? Like isn’t that the main attraction? Why do they think I came for their rice and chicken? WE HAD TO GO TO IKEJA GRA TO GET BARCELOS WAFFLES! Was it worth it? Well…find out!

On this day, we had more than the headline meal, but I guess we didn’t come for the other meal we had? Or maybe we’re saying it was so different from the headline meal it shouldn’t be reviewed.

Anyway, let me tell you about the waffles. Before I had it at Barcelos I had never had it anywhere else. Basically, I was a Waffles Virgin. Anyway, referrals were rad and a firm 4/5.

So I went for the Waffles and syrup; well, with mixed feelings because it was an almost totally new thing. The main ingredient was new to me.

Because of the meal I had before the Waffles, I have to admit, I wasn’t at my hungriest and I’ll try not to let that affect my review. The environment is okay at best. Their metal chairs in the middle of the restaurant aren’t that comfy and they do not inspire comfort. At all!

Their ordering process was not great. It’s best to order yourself when you go in, before you get a seat, like we had done when I had been to Barcelos earlier (they have the worst Sharwarma in the world, by the way, don’t order that).

Why was the order process bad? The person who came to take our order kept forgetting what we ordered and even after asking us multiple times, he still brought in the wrong order! We didn’t plan to have the ice-cream with the waffles but we’re nice people who don’t want him to lose his job so we went along with it.

The meal looks really good. Waffles tastes nice too; like a mixture of biscuit and bread with trenches. The ice-cream hides or envelopes the taste of the syrup which isn’t bad, to be honest. We had chocolate ice-cream and they came with cherries. It tastes really well but it didn’t blow my mind.

The ice cream melted fast, I’m not sure why and that was a minus to the experience, I think. At the end of the day, it felt like melted cream and waffles. Because I was having waffles for the first time maybe my expectations for what a waffle should have tasted like affected my experience. Also maybe the ice-cream is supposed to melt in with the waffles. I give the meal a 4/5 because despite what seemed like poorly executed elements of the meal, it tasted really good.

I’ll go back and have it** and yes, this will stick with me as a meal I should keep having. And one day when I’m in the area or when I feel like having a fancy breakfast I’d come back and have waffles and ice-cream and with a drink too (cold juice would do fine), because it gets you really thirsty and I hadn’t really planned for that. I give returning back a 3.75/5.
So overall:

  • Ordering Process: 1.5
  • Meal Combination: 4.0
  • Return Value: 3.75

The ordering process here was bad but did it take that much away from the meal? No. It, however, did leave an impression on me.

So we’ll give the ordering process 15% of the total score; the meal 45% and the return value 40%.

So the final score is 4.5 + 36 + 30 = 70.5%.

**Maybe we’ll go back. But not in a hurry. Melted ice cream on your waffles is not very pleasant.

--

--

Odunayo
Yinka Eats Food

I am the change I want to see. || PushCV, Covidigital, TechPoint